top of page

NRC Recognises Achievement and Success at Annual Awards Evening

2023 was another year of high achievement, success and personal milestones met within Newbury Road Club and these were recognised at the Club annual awards ceremony at the Falkland Cricket Pavilion. Cups, shields and trophies were awarded for great performances in the 2023 Time Trial season and for outstanding contributions to the Club and Club cycling.

Here we recap the worthy winners and celebrate their great achievements.

Time Trial and Race Awards

Andy Laycock receiving award from Club Chair Lorraine Murrell

Andy Laycock

1st          25 Mile Club Champion

1st          10 Mile Club Champion

1st          Veteran’s 25 Mile TT Club Champion

1st          Veteran’s 10 Mile TT Club Champion

1st          Tate Handicap

2nd        Smith Handicap


Richard Byrne

1st          Men’s Non-Aero Shield

1st          Men’s Spoco Points series

2nd        Tate 10 Mile Handicap Trophy

3rd         10 Mile Club Championship


Simon Hart

1st          Smith 25 Mile Handicap Trophy

2nd        10 Mile Club Championship

2nd        Veteran’s 10 Mile TT Club Championship

3rd         Tate Handicap

3rd         Men’s Spoco Points Series


Alex Pickard

1st          Men’s Hill Climb

Michelle Gautier

1st          Women 25 Mile Club Champion

3rd         Veteran’s 25 Mile TT Club Championship

Paul Whitbread

2nd        25 Mile Club Championship

2nd        Veteran’s 25 Mile TT Club Championship


Ian Chitty

2nd        Men’s Spoco Points Series

3rd         25 Mile Club Championship

3rd         Smith Handicap


Chen Xue

2nd        Men’s Hill Climb


Neil Taylor

3rd         Men’s Hill Climb


Chris Treacher

3rd         Veteran’s 10 Mile TT Club Championship


Club Awards


Frank Edwards (centre) with proud Mum and Dad, Andy and Cassie

Frank Edwards – Len Buttrey Trophy - First Year Junior Trophy

Awarded for completing the Rebellion Way (350km) in 5 days while carrying his own kit.


Alan Alewood – Merit Shield  - Awarded for giving outstanding service to the Club

A former NRC Committee Member, Alan provides most of the NRC TT administration, helps with TT timekeeping and organises many of the Club's Blue and Green rides.


Kirsten receiving her award from the Women's Ride Lead Team

Kirsten Bailkoski – NRC Women's Award 2023

Awarded for transformation from a ‘slightly unfit, non-confident, yet enthusiastic leisure cyclist’ to a Land’s End to John O’Groats conquering cyclist in 2023.


Phil George – Peter Jarvis Club Runs Shield - Awarded for attending the most Club Rides

Phil rides in all weathers, and mostly in shorts, and completed over 100 Club Rides between January-October.


Donal Linehan – Ride of the Year - Awarded for completing ‘Le Loop’

One of the ultimate amateur cycling challenges, Donal completed all 21 stages of the Tour de France, one week ahead of the professional event. His ride also raised over £5,000 for the William Wates Memorial Trust.


Marion Templeman - President’s Cup - Awarded for an outstanding achievement in cycling

Awarded for bike packing, self-supported, and often solo, across America from the West to East over 3 months. 5,300 kilometres, 10 States, 90 days, Marion raised over £23,000 for Move Against Cancer, having survived breast cancer herself in 2021.


Well done to all the Club Winners! Our thanks to those who help support and organise these events and to photographer Gareth Davies for taking photographs on the night.



Recent Posts

See All


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page