top of page

Open Time Trial remembers Dave Jones and course record is broken.

Newbury Road Club hosted the second Dave Jones Memorial time trial on 12th May. The event is held in memory of Dave who was a member of the Club for over 75 years.  Dave’s four children were at the event to cheer on the riders and present the prizes.

Mens overall title was Hadyn James ( 2nd from left) from BPC FLOWBIO who broke the course record with his time of 49 minutes and 15 seconds for the 25 mile course.

This year we had over 60 entries, building on the success of last year’s event.

We were again lucky with the weather.  Glorious sunshine (and a very friendly NRC welcoming committee!) greeted the riders at Englefield Village Hall from 7am. The first rider set off at 8am in pretty perfect conditions for a fast time.

Andy Laycock, Kenneth Brown and Peter Fuell were flying the flag for NRC.  Andy was 10th overall covering the 25 mile course in a brilliant time of 54 minutes and 6 seconds.  Kenneth Brown was 14th overall and Peter Fuell 46th.  We came third in the team competition for the club with the fastest aggregate time for three riders.

NRC's Andy Laycock came 10th overall
NRC's Peter Fuell came 46th overall

It was also great to see so many of the Club runs come along to join in the fun at the village hall for the refreshments and presentations afterwards.

Many thanks to Ray Clarke, who helped organise the event, Bob Lyle and Alan Alewood for timekeeping, Gareth Davies for photographs and the multitude of enthusiastic marshals and helpers.  With your help, we really put on a great event!

The winner of the men’s overall title was Hadyn James ( main picture above) from BPC FLOWBIO race team who broke the course record with his time of 49 minutes and 15 seconds for the 25 mile course.  Peter Allan (Team Velo Sportive) was second and Howard Bailey (…a3crg) was third.

Ladies overall winner Selina Clifford of London Dynamo

The fastest Lady was Selina Clifford from London Dynamo, who covered the course in 59 minutes and 10 seconds, followed by Sarah Matthews (…a3crg) in second with Kerry Hickson (Newbury Velo) in third.

There was a separate competition for riders on road bikes.  Fastest man was Dave Dent from GS Stella (58 minutes and 39 seconds) and fastest lady was Sien Van Der Plank from New Forest Cycling Club (1 hour, 4 minutes and 55 seconds).

Dave Dent of GS Stella - fastest road bike

Sien Van Der Plank of New Forest CC - fastest ladies road bike

The first tandem, and third fastest overall time, was the Newbury Velo tandem of Ian Greenstreet and Rachael Elliott with 50 minutes and 22 seconds.

The Newbury Velo tandem of Ian Greenstreet and Rachael Elliott set the 3rd fastest time on the day

The Dave Jones Memorial Cup is for riders of 40 and over and is awarded to the rider with the fastest time, adjusted to take account of age. Sarah Matthews (…a3crg) took home the silverware.

The Dave Jones Memorial Cup for veterans was won by Sarah Matthews of …a3crg


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page